Home

1) One week off from work! I needed it. After my flu-and-pneumonia-episode, I started work a bit too soon and I was exhausted. To be fair, I still am. Still have to get it out of my system.
On the plus side: I had fun things to do! Fun things aside, I still did some work of which I’m kind of proud. I digitalized all of my paperwork and made it accessible to all of my colleagues. Before, I wrote everything down in files, passed them around, had to get them back on time, … Meh, it’s kind of a bother, really. Better to have everything in one place. Let’s hope the boss likes it so I can start using it this week!

2) I met up with some people and had a great time!

3) Valentine’s Day! The BF and I don’t really do commercial Valentine’s, and 4 years into the relationship we’re still the kind of people who show that they love each other every day, but we still do something extra on V-day.
His sister lives in Bruges and since she was away for the week, we got the key to her place and stayed the night. We went out for dinner, snuggled up close on the couch and watched a romantic comedy (The Holiday, starring Cameron Diaz, Kate Winslet, Jude Law and Jack Black. See the trailer here). I really love Jack Black, he always makes me watch or listen to his stuff (music or movies) with this silly grin on my face.
Anyway, I had a great time. Even though Bruges isn’t far from home and it’s the city I work in every day, it still has ways to make me fall in love with it all over again.

4) IKEA! My wool and felt stash is getting out of hand and I simply had nowhere to keep on stashing. We went to Ikea for an extra addition to my white Expedit dresser. It’s standing, but I still have to put together the drawers, so I can put things away nice and tidy.
Right now, my house looks as if a bomb has exploded. My table is littered with stuff from the dresser, I finally got out the sewing machine my mother stole back from my grandmother who’d ‘borrowed’ it ‘just for a couple of weeks’, ย years ago and I have nowhere to put that bulky princess either. . ๐Ÿ˜€
It’s a late ’80s Singer Samba and I have NO IDEA how to work with it. I’ve managed to find an English manual on the Internet, but I haven’t really had the time to actually use it. Looking forward too it. Geeky, I know, but it’s like a whole world of possibilities has opened up ever since I learned to knit to make this little owl for a friend’s birthday.
Funny how things go!

4 thoughts on “taking those sixty seconds of happiness, week 2

    • Haha! I’ll try to remedy that in a couple of weeks or inbetween essays, work and household chores ๐Ÿ˜€
      Second ‘resolution’ of the year!

      I find that resolutions you make two months in the new year are easier to keep, because there is no pressure ^^

      • This is the first year in a long time that I’ve made a resolution. It was to read a new (to me) book a week, and so far it’s going pretty well, but I read a lot anyways. I’ve thought about making another one, but I’ve got to work myself up to one… I’ll get to the sewing machine eventually, I guess ๐Ÿ™‚

      • That’s an awesome resolution! I’ve always been a big reader, but a resolution like that wouldn’t work on me.
        As soon as I feel forced to do something, I don’t do it, or reluctantly do it. There are weeks in which I’ve read 5 or six books (my Terry Pratchett spree), and there are weeks in which I only look at them in the bookcase.
        It’s like ‘waves’ with me: a reading wave, a knitting wave, a crochet wave, a felt wave, a computer game wave, or two waves at once :p There’s always something.

        But good luck on your resolution! I do love to learn about new books ^^

Leave a Reply

