Home

It’s scientifically proven that January 21 is the most depressing day of the year. People realise that they haven’t kept any of their new year’s resolutions, the extra pounds they gained during the holidays haven’t come off and it’s really bleak and dark outside. And knock knock, the third week of the new year starts with a Blue Monday.

knock knock
Who’s there?
Blue
Blue who?
Blue you!
Hahaha. Haha. Ha.

And there I was, planning to write this smart little blogpost on how January 21 would not be MY Blue Monday.
Oh no, see, I hadn’t made any new year’s resolutions yet. I don’t bother with extra pounds, because I can use them and I work in the evenings so it’s always dark when I go home.
I was going to write about how much I like Mondays.

I get up really early because I have to be at work at 7:30 AM to welcome the children. I’m a tutor at a boarding school and I’m the one who closes off on Friday and opens up on Monday morning.
You ask about their week-end, they tell you about all the crazy (or less crazy) things that happened, the food they ate, the drama they went through. It’s really nice. They like me and I like them and they can tell me everything they want to because I like to listen. Time flies by.
When I’ve finished my opening duties, I go check and fix some 40 computers. By myself. I don’t mind, I like the quiet, it’s a nice change.
Then I’m free for a couple of hours and at 15:50 begin my evening tutoring hours.

I don’t hate Mondays. Not anymore, thanks to this job. Hey, I don’t like getting up early, but once I’m up it’s not too bad. It’s actually the act of getting up that seems to get me down, you know?
Leaving that warm, nice, cosy bed… Horrible.

Well, I was going to talk about all that. Now I want to talk about that nice, cosy bed.
I’ve been in it for 5 days. Bloody flu.
And now the doctor tells me the flu has gone to my lungs and the little bitch caused the beginning of a pneumonia. I’m to stay at home for the rest of the week. In bed.
Even though I’m really not well, I feel decadent. And I kinda miss my colleagues and the children. I feel like I’m letting them down.

So yeah.
Damn.
January 21 is my Blue Monday.

Image

Luckily I have a boyfriend who takes good care of me.
(and my mother-in-law’s soup in the freezer!)

Leave a Reply

